Alliance of Women Film Journalists To Present AWFJ EDA Award @ IDFA 2015 – Nov 18-29

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

eda@idfa2.200The Alliance of Women Film Journalists will proudly present our juried AWFJ EDA Award @ IDFA 2015 for the Best Female Directed Film. This is the second consecutive year of the organization’s partnership with IDFA to recognize women’s accomplishments in documentary filmmaking. In 2014, the AWFJ EDA Award @ IDFA was presented to Maite Alberdi for Tea Time The AWFJ EDA Award and the Oxfam Global Justice Award are the only two independently-presented awards on the IDFA Awards roster. Read more>>

Nominations for the AWFJ EDA Award for Best Female Directed Film are made by IDFA. There are ten nominated films.

The jurors the AWFJ EDA Award @ IDFA are (in alphabetical order) Cynthia Fuchs (, Washington, DC), Katherine McLaughlin (The Arts Desk, London), Jennifer Merin (chair, Women’s eNews, New York), Kim Voynar (Movie City News, Seattle) and Dorothy Woodend (The Tyree, Vancouver). All are members of the Alliance of Women Film Journalists.

IDFA, the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam, is the world’s largest and most influential documentaries-only film festival. Founded in 1983, and is unique for its international film program featuring a wide variety of documentary genres with political and socially conscious themes. The festival presents many European and world premieres each year, and is a major annual gathering place for filmmakers, producers, distributors and students to meet and network.

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists, Inc. (AWFJ), a not-for-profit corporation, is an association of professional female movie critics, reporters and feature writers working in print, broadcast and online media, dedicated to supporting work by and about women – both in front of and behind the cameras – through intra-group promotional activities, outreach programs and by presenting annual EDA Awards in recognition of outstanding accomplishments (the best and worst) by and about women in the movies, and EDA Awards at selected film festivals throughout the year.

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×
explore: | | | | | | |