AWFJ to Present EDA Awards at Whistler Film Festival — Jennifer Merin reports

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

whistler-2016This is the fourth consecutive year in which the Alliance of Women Film Journalists has the honor to partner with Whistler Film Festival to recognize women filmmakers with presentation of EDA Awards for Best Female-Directed Feature Film and Best Female-Directed Documentary at this year’s festival, held in Whistler from November 30 to December 4, 2016. Whistler Film Festival nominates narrative features and documentaries for consideration. Selected by AWFJ jurors, the winners will be announced on December 4, at the Whistler Film Festival Awards Ceremony. Read on…


For 2016, the festival nominated six films for the EDA Award for Best Female-Directed Narrative Feature. They are all from Canadian directors. The titles are (in alphabetical order):

  • Anatomy of Violence – Directed by Deepa Mehta
  • Before the Streets – Directed by Chloé Leriche
  • The Death (and Life of Carl Naardlinger – Directed by Katherine Schlemmer
  • Hunting Pignut – Directed by Martine Blue
  • The Space Between — Directed by Amy Jo Johnson
  • The Sun at Midnight – Directed byKirsten Carthew

The EDA Awards jury for narrative films includes Marina Antunes, Katherine Brodsky (Chair), Giulia D’Agnolo Vallan, Laura Emerick and Julide Tanriverdi.


The seven nominated documentaries include (in alphabetical order):

  • Between – Directed by Sandra Lahnsteiner – Austria
  • Broken – Directed by Lynne Spencer – Canada
  • Going Further – Directed by Lindsay Kent, Matt Pidutti, Lindsay Kent, Colby Rex O’neill – Canada/USA
  • Melody Makers, Should’ve Been There – Directed by Leslie Ann Coles – Canada
  • Mr. Zaritsky on TV – Directed by Jennifer Di Cresce and Michael Savoie – Canada/UK/Germany/Italy
  • Sled Dogs – Directed by Fern Levitt – Canada
  • The Will to Fly – Directed by Katie Bender and Leo Baker – Australia

The EDA Awards jury for documentaries consists of Cynthia Fuchs, Leba Hertz, Jennifer Merin (chair), Katherine Monk and Dorothy Woodend.

For full descriptions of the nominated films and an overview of Whistler Film Festival’s program, visit the Whistler Film Festival Website.


AWFJ’s EDA Awards festival program for 2016 included presentation of the Best Female-Directed Documentary Feature and Best Female-Directed Documentary Short at DOXA Film Festival in Vancouver in May and IDFA in November. AWFJ has presented EDA Awards at Edinburgh International Film Festival, Salem Film Fest, Sheffield Doc/Fest and St. Louis International Film Festival, among others. EDA Awards were also presented for POVs Twentieth Anniversary Celebration at New York’s Museum of Modern Art. For more information about AWFJ and/or the EDA Awards, contact Jennifer Merin at

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×
explore: |