2018 SAG and PGA Awards — Michelle Hannett reports

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

The dark comedic drama Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri was the big winner of the night at the Screen Actors Guild Awards, taking home the award for Best Cast in a Motion Picture at this year’s ceremony on January 21.

THREE BILLBOARDS OUTSIDE OF EBBING, MISSOURIThe compelling film about a mother who is pushed to the edge by her daughter’s unsolved murder is the third movie from Martin McDonagh, the Irish playwright, screenwriter and director known for the hit thriller In Bruges, with its Oscar nominated and BAFTA winning screenplay, and the crime comedy Seven Psychopaths.

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role was awarded to Frances McDormand as “Mildred” in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, while Gary Oldman won the Outstanding Actor prize for his performance as Prime Minister Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour.

The Female Actor in a Supporting Role went to Allison Janney for her portrayal of Tonya Harding’s mother “LaVona Golden” in I, Tonya and Sam Rockwell won the SAG award for his supporting role as “Dixon” in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

Announced prior to the ceremony, Stunt Performers from Wonder Woman and Game of Thrones won for Outstanding Action Performances by Film and Television Stunt Ensembles.

Rita Moreno presented Oscar winner Morgan Freeman with the 54th Life Achievement award.

Decked out in vibrant and colorful haute couture, all the a-list stars hit the SAG Awards 2018 red carpet prior to the show from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. Kristen Bell hosted the ceremony for the first time.

One of the awards season’s premier events, the SAG Awards annually celebrates the outstanding motion pictures and television performances from the previous calendar year. Of the top industry honors presented to actors, only the SAG Awards are selected entirely by performers’ peers in SAG-AFTRA.

The SAG Awards was the first televised awards show to acknowledge the work of union members and the first to present awards to motion picture casts and television ensembles.

The Producers Guild of America Awards announced it’s 2018 winners on Saturday, January 20. And the honors went to:

shape of water 6The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Shape Of Water
Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Producer: Darla K. Anderson

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures:

Producers: Brett Morgen, Bryan Burk, Tony Gerber, James Smith

For more information about the PGA Awards, click here

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×
explore: | | | | | | | | | | | |