2008 AWFJ EDA Awards Nominations

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

The members of the Alliance of Women Film Journalists have nominated the following for the 2008 EDA Awards, which will be celebrated at a by-invitation-only event on December 15.

Listed by category and in alphabetical order, the nominees are:

Best Film

  • Happy-Go-Lucky
  • Milk
  • Slumdog Millionaire

Best Director

  • Danny Boyle – Slumdog Millionaire
  • Mike Leigh – Happy-Go-Lucky
  • Gus Van Sant – Milk

Best Screenplay, Original

  • Ballast – Lance Hammer
  • Frozen River – Courtney Hunt
  • Happy-Go-Lucky – Mike Leigh
  • The Visitor – Tom McCarthy
  • Wall-E – Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter, Jim Reardon

Best Screenplay, Adapted

  • Frost/Nixon – Peter Morgan
  • The Reader – David Hare
  • Slumdog Millionaire – Simon Beaufoy

Best Documentary

  • Man On Wire – James Marsh
  • Standard Operating Procedure – Errol Morris
  • Trouble The Water – Tia Lessin, Carl Deal

Best Actress

  • Sally Hawkins – Happy-Go-Lucky
  • Meryl Streep – Doubt
  • Kate Winslet – The Reader/Revolutionary Road
  • Michelle Williams – Wendy and Lucy

Best Actress In Supporting Role

  • Penelope Cruz – Vicky Cristina Barcelona
  • Viola Davis – Doubt
  • Taraji P. Henson – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Best Actor

  • Richard Jenkins – The Visitor
  • Mickey Rourke -The Wrestler
  • Sean Penn – Milk

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Robert Downey Jr – Tropic Thunder
  • Heath Ledger – Dark Knight
  • Eddie Marsan – Happy-Go-Lucky

Best Ensemble Cast

  • A Christmas Tale
  • Happy-Go-Lucky
  • Milk
  • Rachel Getting Married

Best Editing

  • The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – Kirk Baxter, Angus Wall
  • Frost/Nixon – Daniel P. Hanley, Mike Hill
  • Shine A Light – David Tedeschi

Best Foreign Film

  • A Christmas Tale
  • I’ve Loved You So Long
  • Tell No One


Best Woman Director

  • Isabel Coixet – Elegy
  • Courtney Hunt – Frozen River
  • Kimberly Peirce – Stop Loss
  • Kelly Reichert – Wendy and Lucy

Best Woman Screenwriter

  • Courtney Hunt – Frozen River
  • Jenny Lumet – Rachel Getting Married
  • Kelly Reichert – Wendy and Lucy

Best Breakthrough Performance

  • Rebecca Hall -Vicky Christina Barcelona
  • Sally Hawkins – Happy-Go-Lucky
  • Melissa Leo – Frozen River

Best Newcomer

  • Zoe Kazan – Revolutionary Road
  • David Kloss – The Reader
  • Misty Upham – Frozen River

Women’s Image Award

  • Kristin Scott Thomas
  • Meryl Streep
  • Emma Thompson

Hanging in There Award for Persistence

  • Courtney Hunt
  • Ellen Kuras
  • Melissa Leo
  • Kristin Scott Thomas

Actress Defying Age and Ageism

  • Catherine Deneuve – A Christmas Tale
  • Meryl Streep – Mamma Mia!
  • Emma Thompson – Last Chance Harvey

Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry

  • Sheila Nevins, Producing/Programming at HBO
  • Kathleen Kennedy, Producer, The Curious Tale of Benjamin Button
  • Kate Winslet for her performances in The Reader and Revolutionary Road

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Catherine Deneuve
  • Dame Judi Dench
  • Meryl Streep

AWFJ Award For Humanitarian Activism

  • Angelina Jolie
  • All of the Women in Pray The Devil Back To Hell
  • Courtney Hunt


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award

  • 27 Dresses

  • Choke
  • House Bunny
  • My Blueberry Nights

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent

  • Kate Hudson
  • Diane Keaton
  • Nicole Kidman

Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn‘t

  • Mad Money
  • Mamma Mia!
  • The Women

Best Of The Fests

  • Cook Country
  • The Hurt Locker
  • Moving Midway
  • Hunger

Unforgettable Moment Award

  • Joker’s first scene in Dark Knight
  • Mickey Rourke getting stapled in The Wrestler
  • Slumdog Millionaire, when young Jamal jumps into the poop
  • Slumdog Millionaire, eye gouging
  • Viola Davis’ scenes in Doubt
  • Sabrina Harmon interview in Standard Operating Procedure

Best Depiction Of Nudity or Sexuality

  • Elegy
  • The Reader
  • The Wrestler

Best Seduction

  • Happy-Go-Lucky
  • Vicky Cristina Barcelona
  • The Visitor

Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award

  • Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
  • Saw V
  • Step Up 2: The Streets

The Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award

  • Death Race
  • The Incredible Hulk
  • The Women

Cultural Crossover Award

  • The Reader
  • Slumdog Millionaire
  • Waltz With Bashir

Bravest Performance Award

  • Melissa Leo – Frozen River
  • Mickey Rourke – The Wrestler
  • Kate Winslet – The Reader

Best Leap from Actress to Director Award

  • . Greta Gerwig – Nights and Weekends
  • Helen Hunt – Then She Found Me
  • Amy Redford – The Guitar

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award

  • 88 Minutes – Al Pacino and Alicia Witt
  • Righteous Kill – Robert DeNiro and Carla Guigino
  • The Wackness – Ben Kingsley and Mary-Kate Olsen
0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×

Jennifer Merin

Jennifer Merin is the Film Critic for Womens eNews and contributes the CINEMA CITIZEN blog for and is managing editor for Women on Film, the online magazine of the Alliance of Women Film Journalists, of which she is President. She has served as a regular critic and film-related interviewer for The New York Press and About.com. She has written about entertainment for USA Today, The L.A. Times, US Magazine, Ms. Magazine, Endless Vacation Magazine, Daily News, New York Post, SoHo News and other publications. After receiving her MFA from Tisch School of the Arts (Grad Acting), Jennifer performed at the O'Neill Theater Center's Playwrights Conference, Long Wharf Theater, American Place Theatre and LaMamma, where she worked with renown Japanese director, Shuji Terayama. She subsequently joined Terayama's theater company in Tokyo, where she also acted in films. Her journalism career began when she was asked to write about Terayama for The Drama Review. She became a regular contributor to the Christian Science Monitor after writing an article about Marketta Kimbrell's Theater For The Forgotten, with which she was performing at the time. She was an O'Neill Theater Center National Critics' Institute Fellow, and then became the institute's Coordinator. While teaching at the Universities of Wisconsin and Rhode Island, she wrote "A Directory of Festivals of Theater, Dance and Folklore Around the World," published by the International Theater Institute. Denmark's Odin Teatret's director, Eugenio Barba, wrote his manifesto in the form of a letter to "Dear Jennifer Merin," which has been published around the world, in languages as diverse as Farsi and Romanian. Jennifer's culturally-oriented travel column began in the LA Times in 1984, then moved to The Associated Press, LA Times Syndicate, Tribune Media, Creators Syndicate and (currently) Arcamax Publishing. She's been news writer/editor for ABC Radio Networks, on-air reporter for NBC, CBS Radio and, currently, for Westwood One's America In the Morning. She is a member of the Critics Choice Association in the Film, Documentary and TV branches and a voting member of the Black Reel Awards. For her AWFJ archive, type "Jennifer Merin" in the Search Box (upper right corner of screen).

2 thoughts on “2008 AWFJ EDA Awards Nominations

Comments are closed.