AWFJ Announces 2022 EDA Award Winners – Jennifer Merin reports

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

In our 16th annual awards season, AWFJ presented EDA Awards in 25 categories divided into three sections, the BEST OF AWARDS, FEMALE FOCUS AWARDS and EDA SPECIAL MENTION AWARDS. We were especially pleased to see our EDA Award nominations show strong representation of women filmmakers in all EDA Awards categories, including non-gender specific categories, and not just those in the FEMALE FOCUS section.

This year, three films are tied for the most EDA Awards wins:

The Banshees of Inishern garnered four EDAs:

  • Best Film,
  • Best Original Screenplay for Martin McDonagh
  • Best Actor for Colin Farrell
  • Best supporting Actress for Kerry Condon (tied with Jamie Lee Curtis)

Everything Everywhere All at Once won four EDAs:

  • Best Actress for Michelle Yeoh
  • Best Supporting Actress for Jamie Lee Curtis (tied with Kerry Condon)
  • Best supporting actor for Ke Huy Quan
  • Best Editing for Paul Rogers

Women Talking took four EDAs:

  • Best Director for Sarah Polley
  • Best adapted screenplay for Sarah Polley and Miriam Toews
  • Best Ensemble Cast for Casting Directors John Buchan and Jason Knight
  • Best Woman Screenwriter for Sarah Polley and Miriam Toews

Additionally, in our SPECIAL EDA AWARDS section, Emma Thompson won the EDA Grand Dame Award for defying age and agism, as well as the Bravest Performance Award for Good Luck to You, Leo Grande. Danielle Deadwyler’s turn in Till is designated our Breakthrough Performance, while Ana de Armas is deemed to be most deserving of better projects and roles that match up to her talents.

There are currently 95 AWFJ members who vote for the EDA Awards. The full membership list is accessible here. You can see the full list of nominees here.
And the 2022 EDA Award winners are:

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×