EDA Awards

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists’ EDA Awards recognize the amazing work done by and about women–both in front and behind the camera. AWFJ presents EDA Awards at year’s end and throughout the year at selected film festivals.

The EDAs are named in honor of AWFJ founder Jennifer Merin’s mother, Eda Reiss Merin, a stage, film and television actress whose career spanned more than 60 years. A dedicated foot soldier in the industry, Eda was one of the founders of AFTRA and a long-standing Member of AMPAS.

EDA is also an acronym for Excellent Dynamic Activism, qualities shared by Eda Reiss Merin, AWFJ members and those honored with EDA Awards.

Year End Awards


In December of each year, AWFJ presents three types of year-end awards. Standard “Best of” and “Female Focus” categories are presented annually, while “Special Mention” categories vary each year in response to the films that have been released during that year and usually include Actress Most In Need of a New Agent, Best Nudity or Sexuality and similar classifications unique to the AWFJ EDA Awards at year’s end.

Festival Awards


Additionally, AWFJ presents juried EDA Awards at select film festivals and film screening series during the year to recognize and support outstanding female-directed films included in the festivals’ programs. Participating festivals include the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA), Edinburgh International Film Festival, Salem Film Fest, Sheffield Doc/Fest, St. Louis International Film Festival and Whistler Film Festival. EDA Awards were also presented in conjunction with PBS’ POV’s 25th Anniversary Retrospective at the Museum of Modern Art.


0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×