2008 EDA Awards Winners

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

With sincerest appreciation of all the great work that’s been done in film this year, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 EDA Awards.

For a full list of 2008 EDA Award nominees, click here.

Congratulations to all!

And the winners are:


Best Film

Slumdog Millionaire

Best Direction

Danny Boyle – Slumdog Millionaire

Best Screenplay Original

Wall-E – Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter, Jim Reardon

Best Screenplay Adapted

Frost/Nixon – Peter Morgan

Best Documentary (Tie)

Man On Wire – James Marsh

Trouble The Water – Tia Lessen, Carl Deal

Best Actress (Tie)

Sally Hawkins – Happy-Go-Lucky

Kate Winslet – The Reader and Revolutionary Road

Best Actress In Supporting Role

Viola Davis – Doubt

Best Actor

Sean Penn – Milk

Best Actor in Supporting Role

Heath Ledger – Dark Knight

Best Ensemble Cast

Rachel Getting Married

Best Editing

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – Kirk Baxter, Angus Wall

Best Foreign Film

Tell No One


Best Woman Director

Courtney Hunt – Frozen River

Best Woman Screenwriter

Jenny Lumet – Rachel Getting Married

Best Breakthrough Performance

Sally Hawkins – Happy-Go-Lucky

Best Newcomer

Misty Upham – Frozen River

Women’s Image Award

Kristin Scott Thomas

Hanging in There Award for Persistence

Melissa Leo – Frozen River

Actress Defying Age and Ageism

Catherine Deneuve – A Christmas Tale

2008 Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry

Sheila Nevins, Producing/Programming at HBO

Lifetime Achievement Award

Catherine Deneuve

AWFJ Award For Humanitarian Activism

All of the Women in Pray The Devil Back To Hell


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award

27 Dresses

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent

Kate Hudson

Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn‘t (Tie)

Mamma Mia!

The Women

Best Of The Fests


Unforgettable Moment Award (Tie)

Dark Knight: Joker’s first scene

Slumdog Millionaire: Young Jamal jumps into the poop

Best Depiction Of Nudity or Sexuality (Tie)


The Reader

Best Seduction

Vicky Cristina Barcelona

Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award (Tie)

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull

Saw V

The Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award:

The Women

Cultural Crossover Award

Slumdog Millionaire

Bravest Performance Award

Mickey Rourke – The Wrestler

Best Leap from Actress to Director Award

Helen Hunt – Then She Found Me

Most Egregious Age Difference Between Leading Man and Love Interest

The Wackness – Ben Kingsley and Mary-Kate Olsen

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×