2009 EDA Awards Winners

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

With sincerest appreciation of all the great work that’s been done in film this year, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of the 2009 EDA Awards.

For a full list of 2009 EDA Award nominees, click here.

Congratulations to all!

And the winners of the 2009 EDA Awards are:


Best Film:

The Hurt Locker

Best Animated Film:


Best Director:

Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker

Best Screenplay, Original:

(500) Days of Summer – Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber

Best Screenplay, Adapted

Up In The Air – Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner

Best Documentary

The Cove

Best Actress

Carey Mulligan – An Education

Best Actress In Supporting Role

Monique – Precious

Best Actor

Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Christopher Waltz – Inglorious Basterds

Best Ensemble Cast

The Hurt Locker

Best Editing

Sally Menke – Inglorious Basterds

Most Beautiful Film

Bright Star

Best Non-English-Language Film

Summer Hours


Best Woman Director

Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker

Best Woman Screenwriter

Jane Campion – Bright Star

Best Animated Female

Coraline in Coraline

Best Breakthrough Performance

Carey Mulligan – An Education

Women’s Image Award

Kathryn Bigelow

Perseverance Award

Agnes Varda

Actress Defying Age and Ageism

Meryl Streep – Julie & Julia and It’s Complicated

Sexist Pig Award

Robert Luketic for The Ugly Truth

This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry

Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker

Lifetime Achievement Award

Agnes Varda

AWFJ Award For Humanitarian Activism

Rebecca Cammisa for Which Way Home


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award

Robert Luketic – The Ugly Truth

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent

Hilary Swank

Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn‘t


Unforgettable Moment Award (Tie)

Inglorious Basterds – Shoshanna (Melanie Laurent) burns down the theater

Precious – Mary (Mo’Nique) admits the abuse

Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction (Tie)

An Education – Carey Mulligan and Peter Saarsgard

It’s Complicated – – Meryl Streep and Alec Baldwin

Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award

Transformers Revenge of the Fallen

The Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award

Land of the Lost

Cultural Crossover Award

District 9

Bravest Performance Award

Mo’Nique in Precious

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award

Whatever Works – Larry David and Evan Rachel Wood (40 years difference)

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×