2011 EDA Awards Winners

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

With sincerest appreciation of all the great work that’s been done in film this year, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 EDA Awards.

Congratulations to all!


Best Film:

    The Artist

Best Director:

    Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist

Best Screenplay, Original:

    Midnight in Paris – Woody Allen

Best Screenplay, Adapted: (TIE)

    The Descendants – Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash

    Moneyball – Steven Zallian and Aaron Sorkin

Best Documentary:


Best Animated Film:


Best Actress:

    Viola Davis as Abileen in The Help

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: (TIE)

    Janet McTeer as Hubert Page in Albert Nobbs

    Octavia Spencer as Minny Jackson in The Help

Best Actor:

    Michael Fassbender as Brandon Sullivan in Shame

Best Actor in a Supporting Role:

    Christopher Plummer as Hal Fields in Beginners

Best Ensemble Cast:


Best Editing:

    Hugo – Thelma Schoonmaker

Best Cinematography:

    The Tree of Life – Emmanuel Lubezki

Best Film Music Or Score: (TIE)

    The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Original Score

    Hanna – The Chemical Brothers, Original Score

Best Non-English-Language Film:

    A Separation – Ashgar Farhadi, Iran


Best Woman Director:

    Lynne Ramsay – We Need To Talk About Kevin

Best Woman Screenwriter:

    Kristen Wiig and Annie Mumolo – Bridesmaids

Kick Ass Award For Best Female Action Star: (TIE)

    Rooney Mara as Lisbeth Salander in Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

    Saoirse Ronan as Hanna in Hanna

Best Animated Female:

    Isla Fisher as Beans in Rango

Best Breakthrough Performance:

    Elizabeth Olsen as Martha in Martha Marcy May Marlene

Female Icon Award:

    Glenn Close as Albert Nobbs in Albert Nobbs

Actress Defying Age and Ageism:

    Helen Mirren as Rachel Singer in The Debt

This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry:

    Jessica Chastain for performances in four highly acclaimed films

AWFJ Award For Humanitarian Activism:

    Angelina Jolie for UN work and making In The Land of Blood and Honey to raise awareness about genocide.


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award:

    The Hollywood Reporter for failing to invite any women to join the Directors Roundtable

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent:

    All actresses in New Year’s Eve

Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn‘t:

    Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

Unforgettable Moment Award:

    The Artist – The sound of the glass clinking on the table.

Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction: (TIE)

    Melancholia – Justine in the moonlight.

    Shame – Opening sequence on the subway train.

Sequel Or Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award:

    The Hangover Part II

Most Egregious Love Interest Age Difference Award: (TIE)

    Albert Nobbs – Glenn Close (64) and Mia Wasilkowska (22)

    Twilight: Breaking Dawn Part I – Bella (18) and Edward (Over 100)

* * * * * * * * * * * *

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists is very grateful to our 2011 sponsors for their ongoing support of the EDA Awards and our organization.

See the list of 2011 Eda Awards Nominees and visit the EDA Awards Archives.

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×