2013 EDA Award Winners

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

With sincerest appreciation for all the great work that’s been done in film this year, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 EDA Awards.

Congrats to all!


Best Film

  • 12 Years a Slave

  • Best Director (Female or Male)

  • Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
  • Best Screenplay, Original

  • Her – Spike Jonze
  • Best Screenplay, Adapted

  • John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave
  • Best Documentary

  • Stories We Tell – Sarah Polley
  • Best Animated Film

  • The Wind Rises – Hayao Miyazaki
  • Best Actress

  • Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
  • Best Actor

  • Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
  • Best Ensemble Cast

  • American Hustle
  • Best Editing

  • Gravity – Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger
  • Best Cinematography

  • Gravity – Emmanuel Lubezki
  • Best Film Music Or Score

  • Inside Llewyn Davis – T-Bone Burnett
  • Best Non-English-Language Film

  • The Hunt – Thomas Vinterberg – Denmark

    These awards honor WOMEN only.

    Best Woman Director

  • Nicole Holofcener – Enough Said
  • Best Woman Screenwriter

  • Nicole Holofcener – Enough Said
  • Kick Ass Award For Best Female Action Star

  • Sandra Bullock – Gravity
  • Best Animated Female

  • Anna (Kristen Bell) in Frozen
  • Best Breakthrough Performance

  • Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years A Slave
  • Actress Defying Age and Ageism

  • Sandra Bullock – Gravity
  • AWFJ EDA Female Icon Award

    (Presented to an actress for the portrayal of the most positive female role model, or for a role in which she takes personal and/or career risks to plumb the female psyche and therefore gives us courage to plumb our own, and/or for putting forth the image of a woman who is heroic, accomplished, persistent, demands her rights and/or the rights of others.)

  • Angelina Jolie for continued commitments to humanitarian causes, and for promoting awareness about breast cancer.
  • This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry

    (Presented only when warranted to a female who has had a banner-making, record-breaking, industry-changing achievement during any given year.)

  • Haaifa Al-Mansour for challenging the limitations placed on women within her culture by making the film Wadjda.

    AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award

  • The Counselor – Ridley Scott
  • Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent

  • Cameron Diaz for The Counselor
  • Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn’t Award

  • The Counselor
  • Unforgettable Moment Award

  • 12 Years A Slave – Solomon Northrup hanging
  • Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction Award

  • Her – Scarlett Johansson and Joaquin Phoenix for their digital lovemaking.
  • Sequel or Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award (Tie)

  • Carrie
  • Oz, Great and Powerful
  • Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award

  • Last Vegas – Michael Douglas and Bre Blair
  • 0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×