2015 EDA Award Nominees

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

With sincerest appreciation of all the great work that’s been done in film this year, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists is pleased to announce the awards categories for the 2015 EDA Awards.

These awards are presented to women and/or men without gender consideration.

Best Film

    Mad Max: Fury Road
    The Martian

Best Director

    Lenny Abrahamson – Room
    Todd Haynes – Carol
    Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu – The Revenant
    Tom McCarthy – Spotlight
    George Miller – Mad Max Fury Road
    Ridley Scott – The Martian

Best Screenplay, Original

    Ex Machina – Alex Garland
    Inside Out – Pete Docter, Ronnie Del Carmen, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley
    Spotlight – Josh Singer, Tom McCarthy

Best Screenplay, Adapted

    The Big Short – Charles Randolph, Adam McKay
    Carol – Phyllis Nagy
    The Martian – Drew Goddard
    Room – Emma Donoghue

Best Documentary

    Amy – Asif Kapadia
    Best of Enemies – Robert Gordon, Morgan Neville
    Going Clear: Scientology and The Prison of Belief – Alex Gibney
    The Hunting Ground – Kirby Dick
    What Happened, Ms. Simone? – Liz Garbus

Best Animated Film

    Inside Out
    Shaun The Sheep

Best Actress

    Cate Blanchett – Carol
    Brie Larson – Room
    Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

    Rooney Mara – Carol
    Kristen Stewart – Clouds of Sils Maria
    Alicia Vikander – Ex Machina
    Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs

Best Actor

    Matt Damon – The Martian
    Leonardo Di Caprio – The Revenant
    Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs
    Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

    Paul Dano – Love & Mercy
    Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies
    Michael Shannon – 99 Homes
    Sylvester Stallone – Creed

Best Ensemble Cast

    The Big Short
    Straight Outta Compton

Best Editing

    The Big Short – Hank Corwin
    Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel
    Spotlight – Tom McArdle

Best Cinematography

    Carol – Edward Lachman
    Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale
    The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki

Best Film Music Or Score

    Carol – Carter Burwell
    The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone
    Mad Max: Fury Road – Junkie XL
    Youth – David Lang

Best Non-English-Language Film

    Mustang – Deniz Gamze Erguven
    Phoenix – Christian Petzold
    Son of Saul – Laszlo Nemes

These awards honor WOMEN only.

Best Woman Director

    Isabel Coixet – Learning to Drive
    Maya Forbes – Infinitely Polar Bear
    Sarah Gavron – Suffragette
    Marielle Heller – Diary of a Teenage Girl
    Celine Sciamma – Girlhood

Best Woman Screenwriter

    Emma Donoghue – Room
    Marielle Heller – Diary of a Teenage Girl
    Phyllis Nagy – Carol
    Amy Schumer – Trainwreck

Best Female Action Star

    Emily Blunt – Sicario
    Jennifer Lawrence – The Hunger Games Mocking Jay 2
    Daisy Ridley – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
    Charlize Theron – Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Breakthrough Performance

    Brie Larson – Room
    Bel Powley – Diary of a Teenage Girl
    Daily Ridley – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
    Alicia Vikander – Ex Machina, Testament of Youth, The Danish Girl

Female Icon of the Year Award (a woman whose work in film and/or in life made a difference)

    Chantal Ackerman – In Memoriam For being a great filmmaker and inspiration.
    Maria Giese – Activist filmmaker who is spearheading the movement for parity for women directors.
    Donna Langley – Chair(wo)man, Universal Pictures, who has brought the studio to unprecedented profits.
    Jennifer Lawrence – For breaking the silence about discriminatory practices and unequal pay for actresses.
    Charlotte Rampling – Because she’s Charlotte Rampling and is iconic.


Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction

    Diary of a Teenage Girl

Actress Defying Age and Ageism

    Helen Mirren
    Charlotte Rampling
    Lily Tomlin

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Lead and The Love Interest Award

    Danny Collins – Al Pacino and Katarina Cas
    Freeheld – Julianne Moore and Ellen Page
    Irrational Man – Joaquin Phoenix and Emma Stone
    Spectre – Daniel Craig and Lea Seydoux

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent

    Bryce Dallas Howard – Jurassic World
    Dakota Johnson – 50 Shades of Grey
    Emma Stone – Aloha

Movie You Wanted To Love, But Just Couldn’t

    The Danish Girl
    The Hateful Eight

EDA Award winners will be announced on January 12, 2016.

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×