2018 EDA Award Winners

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 AWFJ EDA Awards. In our 12th annual awards season, we present EDA Awards in 25 categories divided into three sections, the BEST OF AWARDS, FEMALE FOCUS AWARDS AND EDA SPECIAL MENTION AWARDS. Nominees in each category are determined by AWFJ members who submit nominating ballots. There are currently 84 voting AWFJ members. The full membership list is accessible here. And the 2018 EDA Award winners are:

These awards are presented to women and/or men without gender consideration.

Best Film

  • ROMA

Best Director

  • Alfonso Cuaron – ROMA

Best Screenplay, Original

  • THE FAVOURITE – Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara

Best Screenplay, Adapted

  • CAN YOU EVER FORGIVE ME? – Nicole Holofcener, Jeff White

Best Documentary

  • WON’T YOU BE MY NEIGHBOR? – Morgan Neville

Best Animated Film

  • SPIDERMAN INTO SPIDER-VERSE – Bob Perischerri, Peter Ramsay, Rodney Rothman

Best Actress

  • Olivia Colman – THE FAVOURITE

Best Actress in a Supporting Role


Best Actor

  • Ethan Hawke – FIRST REFORMED

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Richard E Grant – CAN YOU EVER FORGIVE ME?

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director

  • BLACK PANTHER – Sarah Finn, Casting Director

Best Cinematography

  • ROMA – Alfonso Cuaron

Best Editing

  • ROMA – Alfonso Cuaron, Adam Gough

Best Non-English-Language Film

  • ROMA – Alfonso Cuaron, Mexico

These awards honor WOMEN only.

Best Woman Director

  • Marielle Heller – CAN YOU EVER FORGIVE ME?

Best Woman Screenwriter

  • Deborah Davis – THE FAVOURITE (with Tony McNamara)

Best Animated Female

  • Elastagirl, INCREDIBLES 2, Holly Hunter

Best Breakthrough Performance

  • Thomasin McKenzie – LEAVE NO TRACE

Outstanding Achievement by A Woman in The Film Industry

  • Rachel Morrison for paving the road for women cinematographers with her Oscar nomination for MUDBOUND and scoring as DP on BLACK PANTHER.


Actress Defying Age and Ageism

  • Viola Davis – WIDOWS

Bravest Performance

  • Olivia Colman – THE FAVOURITE

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent

  • Jennifer Lawrence – RED SPARROW

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Lead and The Love Interest Award

  • MISSION IMPOSSIBLE FALLOUT – Tom Cruise and Rebecca Ferguson

Remake or Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made


AWFJ Hall of Shame Award

  • Alleged Abusers Weinstein, Moonves, CK, Rush, Franco, Singer, Rose, Lauer, et al

Read the 2016 AWFJ EDA Awards Winners List
Read about 2016 AWFJ EDA Awards in the News
Read more about the Alliance of Women Film Journalists
Read more about the AWFJ EDA Awards
Read the AWFJ Membership List

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×