Jane Fonda to receive Britannia Award for Excellence in Film

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Jane Fonda in “Grace and Frankie.” Netflix photo

Two-time Oscar winner Jane Fonda has been chosen to receive a Britannia Award for Excellence in Film from the British Academy of Film and Television Arts Los Angeles.

The award, named after director Stanley Kubrick, honors cinema legends whose work has left an indelible mark on the industry, and is the Britannia Awards’ highest accolade, according to Variety.

Kathryn Busby, chair of the board of BAFTA L.A., said Fonda was and always had been “an unstoppable force on stage, on screen and behind the camera.”

“The legendary actress’s illustrious career has spanned decades and awarded her with numerous accolades for the dozens of characters she has so brilliantly portrayed,” Busby said. “We could not think of a more deserving recipient for this year’s Stanley Kubrick Britannia Award for Excellence in Film and are looking forward to honoring her outstanding achievements.”

Fonda currently stars alongside her “9 to 5” co-star Lily Tomlin in the Netflix comedy “Grace and Frankie,” for which she was nominated for a Primetime Emmy Award. The show was renewed in January for a sixth season that will premiere next year.

Fonda won consecutive lead actress BAFTAs in 1979 and 1980 for her roles in Fred Zinnemann’s “Julia” and James Bridges’ “The China Syndrome.” Her two best actress Oscars came for 1971’s “Klute” and 1978’s “Coming Home.”

Last year’s Excellence in Film Award was presented to Cate Blanchett. Other recent recipients include Meryl Streep, George Clooney, Matt Damon, Jodie Foster and Robert Downey Jr.

The event, which is BAFTA’s biggest annual event outside the U.K., is set for Oct. 25 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. The ceremony will be streamed in the U.S. and Canada via BritBox, the BBC and ITV’s joint subscription streaming service.



0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×
explore: | | |