Julie Andrews to receive AFI Life Achievement Award

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Julie Andrews

Screen and stage icon Dame Julie Andrews will receive the 48th AFI Life Achievement Award from the American Film Institute.

Billed as he highest honor for a career in film, the award will be presented to Andrews at a Gala Tribute on April 25, in Los Angeles.

The AFI Life Achievement Award has won Emmy Awards across five decades in its 48-year run and will return for its eighth year with TNT, followed by encore presentations on sister network Turner Classic Movies (TCM) in the fall, according to a news release.

“Julie Andrews is practically perfect in every way,” said Kathleen Kennedy, chairwoman of the AFI Board of Trustees, in a statement. “Her talents across time have inspired a shared sense of joy across generations, and her gifts to our cultural heritage are a testament to the power of this art form to bring us together when we need it most. AFI is proud to sing her praises with its 48th Life Achievement Award.”

A legendary actress of both stage and screen, Andrews has enchanted and delighted audiences around the world with her uplifting and inspiring body of work. She continues to captivate viewers in front of the camera, with her remarkable wit, characteristic grace and an incandescent and unmistakable voice all of her own — while also shining a light on humanitarian issues in her activism and philanthropic work.

A three-time Academy Award nominee, Andrews’ star turn in “Mary Poppins” won her both a BAFTA and an Oscar. From her early debut as Polly Browne in “The Boyfriend” to her critically-acclaimed Eliza Doolittle in the Broadway hit “My Fair Lady” to her timeless performance as Maria von Trapp in “The Sound of Music” to her groundbreaking dual roles in the gender-bending “Victor/Victoria,” Andrews has proven herself an accomplished and versatile actress.

Throughout an illustrious career that spans seven decades, she has won five Golden Globes, three Grammys and two Emmys for projects infused with her incomparable charm and recognized for their ability to enthrall audiences worldwide. The critically lauded Andrews is also a Kennedy Center honoree, a Disney Legend inductee and the recipient of a SAG Life Achievement Award.

On stage and screen, she has delivered transcendent performances known for their elegance, artistry and humor, with additional acting credits including: “Camelot” (1960), “The Americanization of Emily” (1964), “Torn Curtain” (1966), “Hawaii” (1966), “Thoroughly Modern Millie” (1967), “Star!” (1968), “10” (1979), “Little Miss Marker” (1980), “The Man Who Loved Women” (1983), “Duet for One” (1986), “Enchanted” (2007) and “Aquaman” (2018).

The Englishwoman has also starred in multiple, successful franchises, including “The Princess Diaries” (2001) and “The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement” (2004); “Shrek 2” (2004), “Shrek the Third” (2007) and “Shrek Forever After” (2010); and “Despicable Me” (2010) and “Despicable Me 3” (2017).

Recently, Andrews was cast in Shonda Rhimes’ new Netflix series “Bridgerton” to play a sharp-tongued gossip writer in Regency London, marking her continued evolution as an actress and icon.

Andrews’ second memoir, “Home Work: A Memoir of My Hollywood Years” — a follow-up to her successful 2008 New York Times Best Seller, “Home: A Memoir of My Early Years” — will be released Oct. 15.

The AFI Board of Trustees established the AFI Life Achievement Award in 1973, when it was first awarded to John Ford. It has been bestowed on a long line of Hollywood legends, including Jane Fonda, Sean Connery, Diane Keaton, John Williams, Meryl Streep, George Clooney and last year’s recipient, Denzel Washington.



0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×
explore: | |