Renee Zellweger to receive American Riviera Award from Santa Barbara International Film Festival

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Renee Zellweger

Academy Award winner Renee Zellweger, who has earned acclaimed for her portrayal of Judy Garland in the last months of the iconic singer’s life in “Judy,” will receive the American Riviera Award from the Santa Barbara International Film Festival.

The award tribute will take place during the 35th Santa Barbara International Film Festival, slated for Jan. 15-25 at the Arlington Theatre in Santa Barbara, California.

The American Riviera Award was established to recognize actors who have made a significant contribution to American cinema, according to Deadline. Zellweger will join a list of previous recipients that includes Viggo Mortenson, Sam Rockwell, Jeff Bridges, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Mark Ruffalo, Patricia Arquette, Ethan Hawke, Robert Redford, Quentin Tarantino, Martin Scorsese, Annette Bening, Sandra Bullock, Mickey Rourke, Tommy Lee Jones, Forrest Whitaker, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Kevin Bacon and Diane Lane.

“Ms. Zellweger has always displayed a deep commitment and discipline in her performances which has always made me root for her and admire her deeply. In ‘Judy’ – she adds a ferocity that solidifies her as one of the greatest actors of her time,” Santa Barbara Film Festival executive director Roger Durling said, per Deadline.

Zellweger has been nominated for three Oscars: Twice in the Best Actress category, for “Bridget Jones’ Diary” in 2001 and “Chicago” in 2002, and once for Best Supporting Actress in “Cold Mountain” in 2003, which she won.

“Judy,” which first debuted at the Telluride and Toronto film festivals, where Zellweger received repeated standing ovations, has established her as a front-runner in the Best Actress competition for the 2020 Academy Awards. To read my review of “Judy,” click here.

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival also will honor “The Irishman” director Martin Scorsese Nov. 14 at the Ritz-Carlton Bacara Santa Barbara.

The festival’s Virtuosos Award, presented by UGG, will be presented to Awkwafina (“The Farewell”), Taron Egerton (“Rocketman”), Florence Pugh (“Midsommar”) and Taylor Russell (“Waves”) Jan. 18 at the Arlington Theatre in Santa Barbara.

For more information, go to





0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×
explore: | | | |