‘CODA,’ ‘Black Widow,’ ‘West Side Story’ and more receive ReFrame Stamp

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Director and screenwriter Siân Heder’s family drama “CODA” won best picture at the 2022 Academy Awards. [Sundance Institute photo]

This year’s best picture Academy Award winner “CODA,” 2021 best picture Oscar winner “Nomadland” and fellow Academy Award winners “The Power of the Dog,” “Encanto,” Cruella and “West Side Story” have met the criteria to receive the ReFrame Stamp.

Presented in partnership with IMDbPro, the ReFrame Stamp serves as a mark of distinction for projects that have demonstrated gender-balanced hiring. The ReFrame Stamp is awarded annually to feature films and television content.

The ReFrame Stamp is awarded to narrative and animated features that hire women or individuals of other underrepresented gender identities and/or expressions, including those who are non-binary or gender non-conforming, in four out of eight key roles including writer, director, producer, lead, co-leads and department heads. Additional points are awarded to productions that hire women of color in key positions, and to those with overall gender parity in their crews.

A total of 28 of the top 100 films of 2021 met the criteria to receive the ReFrame Stamp, including Marvel’s “Black Widow” and “Eternals,” the movie musical “In the Heights,” the reboot “The Matrix Resurrections” and more.

Last year’s list included 29 films, the most ever, according to Deadline.

“The ReFrame Stamp is a measure of who is being hired in key roles across a production, and reviewing each year’s most popular films through this lens gives us a snapshot of how much further we need to go to reach gender parity,” said Andria Wilson Mirza, director of ReFrame, per Deadline.

“In the past five years, increased research, investment and industry initiatives have contributed to sustained growth opportunities for women directors, but women cinematographers, composers, and those in the VFX field remain seriously underrepresented. Consider reframing the findings this way: of the 100 most popular films last year, 94 had male cinematographers, 97 had male composers, and 91 had male VFX supervisors.”

The list of this year’s most popular films was compiled based on IMDb global page views for narrative features. Three of the 10 films with budgets larger than $50 million earned the stamp.

Plus, three of the 10 films nominated for the 2022 best picture Oscar – “The Power of the Dog,” “West Side Story” and “Coda,” the winner – earned the stamp.

Founded and led by Sundance Institute and Women In Film, Los Angeles, ReFrame is an initiative that employs a peer-to-peer approach, in which ReFrame Ambassadors engage with senior industry decision-makers at more than 50 partner companies to implement ReFrame systemic change programs.

The stamp criteria were developed in consultation with ReFrame Ambassadors, producers and other industry experts. Productions that have received the stamp are granted permission to include it in end credits and marketing materials and will receive additional promotional support from ReFrame.

Scarlett Johansson plays Black Widow in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. [Marvel Studios photo]

Here is the full list of feature films released in 2021 to receive the ReFrame Stamp:

“Black Widow” – Director: Cate Shortland, Screenwriter: Eric Pearson, Producer: Kevin Feige, Distributor: Walt Disney Studios

“Candyman” – Director: Nia DaCosta, Screenwriters: Jordan Peele, Win Rosenfeld, Nia DaCosta, Producers: Ian Coope, Jordan Peele, Win Rosenfeld, Distributor: NBCUniversal

“Cinderella” – Director: Kay Cannon, Screenwriters: Kay Cannon, Producers: James Corden, Jonathan Kadin, Shannon McIntosh, Leo Pearlman, Distributor: Amazon Studios

“CODA” – Director: Sian Heder, Screenwriters: Sian Heder, Producers: Fabrice Gianfermi, Philippe Rousselet, Jérôme Seydoux, Patrick Wachsberger, Distributor: Apple

“Cruella” – Director: Craig Gillespie, Screenwriters: Dana Fox, Tony McNamara, Producers: Kristin Burr, Distributor: Walt Disney Studios

“Encanto” – Director: Byron Howard, Jared Bush, Screenwriters: Charise Castro Smith, Jared Bush, Producers: Yvett Merino, Clark Spencer, Distributor: Walt Disney Studios

“Eternals” – Director: Chloé Zhao, Screenwriters: Patrick Burleigh, Ryan Firpo, Kaz Firpo, Producers: Kevin Feige, Nate Moore, Distributor: Walt Disney Studios

“Fear Street: 1978” – Director: Leigh Janiak, Screenwriters: Zak Olkewicz, Leigh Janiak, Producers: Peter Chernin, David Ready, Jenno Topping, Distributor: Netflix

“Fear Street: 1994” – Director: Leigh Janiak, Screenwriters: Phil Graziadei, Leigh Janiak, Producers: Peter Chernin, David Ready, Jenno Topping, Distributor: Netflix

“House of Gucci” – Director: Ridley Scott, Screenwriters: Becky Johnston, Roberto Bentivegna, Producers: Giannina Facio, Mark Huffam, Ridley Scott, Kevin J. Walsh, Distributor: United Artists Releasing

“In the Heights” – Director: Jon M. Chu, Screenwriters: Quiara Alegría Hudes, Producers: Anthony Bregman, Mara Jacobs, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Scott Sanders, Distributor: WarnerMedia

“Intrusion” – Director: Adam Salky, Screenwriters: Chris Sparling, Producers: Kyle Benn, Russell Hollander, Alexandra Milchan, Matthew Myers, Chris Sparling, Josh Weinstock, Distributor: Netflix

“Jolt” – Director: Tanya Wexler, Screenwriters: Scott Wascha, Producers: David Bernardi, Sherryl Clark, Yariv Lerner, Robert Van Norden, Les Weldon, Distributor: Amazon

“Last Night in Soho” – Director: Edgar Wright, Screenwriters: Krysty Wilson-Cairns, Producers: Edgar Wright, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Nira Park, Distributor: NBCUniversal

“Love Hard” – Director: Hernan Jimenez, Screenwriters: Daniel Mackey, Rebecca Ewing, Producers: McG, Mary Viola, Distributor: Netflix

“Malcolm & Marie” – Director: Sam Levinson, Screenwriters: Sam Levinson, Producers: Ashley Levinson, Kevin Turen, Distributor: Netflix

“Malignant” – Director: James Wan, Screenwriters: Akela Cooper, Producers: Michael Clear, James Wan, Distributor: WarnerMedia

“Nomadland” – Director: Chloé Zhao, Screenwriters: Chloé Zhao, Producers: Peter Spears, Chloé Zhao, Mollye Asher, Frances McDormand, Distributor: Walt Disney Studios

“Raya and the Last Dragon” – Director: Carlos López Estrada, Don Hall, Screenwriters: Qui Nguyen, Adele Lim, Producers: Peter Del Vecho, Osnat Shurer, Distributor: Walt Disney Studios

“Reminiscence” – Director: Lisa Joy, Screenwriters: Lisa Joy, Producers: Michael De Luca, Lisa Joy, Jonathan Nolan, Aaron Ryder, Distributor: WarnerMedia

“The Dig” – Director: Simon Stone, Screenwriters: Moira Buffini, Producers: Gabrielle Tana, Distributor: Netflix

“The Forever Purge” – Director: Everardo Gout, Screenwriters: James DeMonaco, Producers: James DeMonaco, Sébastien K. Lemercier, Distributor: NBCUniversal

“The Matrix Resurrections” – Director: Lana Wachowski, Screenwriters: Lana Wachowski, David Mitchell, Aleksandar Hemon, Producers: Lana Wachowski, James McTeigue, Distributor: WarnerMedia

“The Power of the Dog” – Director: Jane Campion, Screenwriters: Jane Campion, Producers: Jane Campion, Iain Canning, Roger Frappier, Tanya Seghatchian, Emile Sherman, Distributor: Netflix

“The Unforgivable” – Director: Nora Fingscheidt, Screenwriters: Peter Craig, Hillary Seitz, Courtenay Miles, Producers: Sandra Bullock, Graham King, Distributor: Netflix

“Things Heard & Seen” – Director: Shari Springer Berman, Robert Pulcini, Screenwriters: Shari Springer Berman, Robert Pulcini, Producers: Stefanie Azpiazu, Anthony Bregman, Julie Cohen, Peter Cron, Distributor: Netflix

“Vivo” – Director: Kirk DeMicco, Brandon Jeffords, Screenwriters: Kirk DeMicco, Quiara Alegría Hudes, Producers: Rich Moore, Lisa Stewart, Michelle Wong, Distributor: Netflix

“West Side Story” – Director: Steven Spielberg, Screenwriters: Tony Kushner, Producers: Kristie Macosko Krieger, Steven Spielberg, Distributor: Walt Disney Studios


0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×
explore: | | | |